Skip to main content

An Education, Health, and Care Plan (EHCP) is a legal document in the UK that sets out the special educational needs (SEN) of a child and the support that they require to meet those needs. The EHCP process involves five stages, each of which is important to ensure that the child receives appropriate support and services.

  1. Assessment: The first stage of the EHCP process is an assessment of the child’s needs. This may involve a range of professionals, such as teachers, educational psychologists, and healthcare professionals. The assessment should consider the child’s strengths, weaknesses, and areas of need, as well as any support that they may require to access education.
  2. Draft plan: Once the assessment is complete, a draft EHCP is created. This should include a detailed description of the child’s needs and the support that they require to meet those needs. The draft EHCP should also set out the child’s goals and aspirations, as well as any recommendations for services or support.
  3. Consultation: The draft EHCP is then shared with the child and their parents or carers, as well as any professionals involved in the assessment process. They have the opportunity to provide feedback and make suggestions for changes or amendments to the plan.
  4. Final plan: Once all feedback has been considered, a final EHCP is created. This should include all of the child’s needs, the support that they require, and any services that they may need to access. The final EHCP should be clear and easy to understand, and should outline the responsibilities of all parties involved.
  5. Review: The final stage of the EHCP process is regular review of the plan. This is to ensure that the support and services provided are appropriate and effective in meeting the child’s needs. The review process should involve the child, their parents or carers, and any professionals involved in the child’s education and care.

The EHCP process can be complex, but it is an important tool for ensuring that children with special educational needs receive appropriate support and services. By working together and following the five stages of the EHCP process, parents, schools, and professionals can help children to achieve their full potential and succeed in their education and beyond.

Heart Teaching

Heart Teaching

Typically replies within a day

I will be back soon

Heart Teaching
Hey there 👋 Thanks for stopping by. If you have any questions let me know.